Big Ric Rising: One of the Best Wedding Bands in Philadelphia

On this page, you can enjoy testimonials and reviews from Big Ric Rising events.

Big Ric Rising Reviews

The Mendenhall Inn: Kelsey and Joe Boccella – December 20, 2018

Big Ric Rising made our wedding!! Ric was a great MC and kept the dance floor packed all night! He kept the night moving through introductions, dances, and the countdown to midnight. We have gotten so many compliments from guests on what a great reception we had thanks to the band! BVT was easy to work with and we would highly recommend them to anyone!

- Kelsey (Bride)

Overbrook Golf Club: Member Holiday Party – December 15, 2018

Once again, Big Ric kicked ---. He is truly the best! I have not met a better entertainer. Big Ric knows how to get the party started, he knows how to keep the party rocking, and he knows when to tear the roof off of the place. It is so fun to watch him work the crowd.
I cannot begin to tell you the rave reviews I received about the party on Saturday December 15th and most of the feedback included comments about Big Ric.
When we booked Big Ric earlier in the year for this party, you and I agreed on a small band in the Piano Bar. Ric took it upon himself to add two band members to his band because he knows the room and knew those extra two pieces would elevate the experience. He did not have to do that and I know he took money out of his own pocket to pay those other musicians. I don’t think there are many band leaders, who would make that sacrifice for the greater good. It did not go unnoticed and Big Ric should be commended for his thoughtfulness and energy.
Personally, I love Big Ric. He is a pleasure to work with and his skills as a band leader are second to none. Big Ric is a true professional. He works his --- off to make sure the people in front of him are having a good time. Ric makes everyone look good, including the venue and their staff. That is a fact. If you cannot have a good time with Big Ric, there is something wrong with you.
I look forward to the next time he and I can work together. I am sure it will be sooner than later.
Best regards,

- Jimmy (Assistant Manager)

The Cira Centre Atrium: Morgan and Jeffrey Cottle – November 16, 2018

Best Wedding Band EVER!
We had Big Ric Rising play for our wedding in November and it was the BEST decision we made while wedding planning! We actually planned our entire wedding around the band - they were the first vendor we booked. Ric was awesome throughout the process. He understood what we were going for throughout our day, and dealt with all of our out-of-the-ordinary requests/plans. People still rave about our band. EVERYONE was on the dance floor from the start of the night until the last song (one of our guests even ripped his pants dancing - that's how you know it was good music!). Several people told me they've never seen a bride have so much fun at her own wedding - there were only a few moments when I wasn't on the dance floor! A few people told us that our wedding was the best they've ever been to, and I credit a lot of that to Big Ric Rising's ability to really engage the crowd and play to the mood of the party. These guys are true professionals. If you book them for your wedding, you will NOT regret it - in fact, you'll most likely say it was the best decision you made!

- Morgan (Bride)

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: Maxine and Alan Gandler – November 3, 2018

Big Ric and the band are great. I would hire them again in a minute. They delivered on everything they promised, they read the mood of the room perfectly and gave us the best wedding ever. People after the wedding came up to us and complimented us on the band and what a great job they did. If you want a wedding where everyone is up on their feet dancing - then go with Big Ric!

- Father Of The Bride (Parent)

Drexelbrooke: Caitlyn and Joey Righter – October 13, 2018

Big Ric Rising was awesome! We couldn't be more pleased with the experience we had for our wedding in October 2018. BVTLive (Big Ric Rising) were awesome. Everyone is still talking about them.

- Lisa (Mother of the Bride)

Pocono Lake Preserve: Liza and Andrew – September 29, 2018

Ric!

OMG! Was that incredible or what? We had SUCH a great time at liza and Andrew’s wedding! You and the band were fantastic — beyond words really! Loved how you got the energy going and kept it at 100! It was a group that was ready to have some FUN!!!! And then the girls singing the father/daughter dance— omg! And Andrews dad singing 2 incredible songs! And son-in-law jamie singing shut up and dance...you were quite generous in handing over the mike! Everyone was RAVING about you and the band!! And I think your team had a ball too— right??

Anyway just wanted to send a huge THANKs your way! No more weddings for us— but I will recommend you to be sure!!!

Best to you always!!

- Betsy (Mother of Bride)

The Down Town Club: Allison and Dan Mischel – September 22, 2018

Thank you so much for everything. You guys made our wedding rock on and everyone had a great time All of my best

- Dan Mischel (Groom)

Thornbury Park: Thornbury Founder’s Day – September 8, 2018

Hey Nils,
I am so happy to have stumbled onto your website and then met you. What an incredible band you are a part of. You are all so friendly and talented. You, literally MADE our event. Thank you so much! We all wish there was more sunshine but you never let the thin crowd or the rain drops get you down….and at the end you had everyone happy that they stayed. Thank you!

- Susan Daudert (Events Coordinator – Thornbury Township)

___________________________________________

Bic Ric Rising played at our Founder's Day Event and was nothing short of amazing! They filled an entire park with energy! They were so professional, so easy to deal with, friendly and approachable, and the talent was incredible. The FUN that this band provided still has our residents talking. Big Ric engaged our residents young and old and had people dancing, singing and laughing.
Absolutely Awesome!

- Susan Daudert (Events Coordinator – Thornbury Township)

 

 

Glen Ford Mansion: Kelley and Erik Carabasi – September 2, 2018

The music at Kelley and Erik’s wedding was perfect. Big Ric, it was such a pleasure working with you. You and your whole band are the epitome of professionalism and talent, and the guests had the best time because of you all!

Joanne, thank you as always for all of the help! I hope you both have a wonderful week and an even better fall wedding season. I hope to work you again soon!

- Allie (Mother of Bride)

Women’s Civic Center of Stone Harbor: Katie and Ryan Murray – August 24, 2018

Just wanted to say THANK YOU so much for such a fabulous wedding!! You guys were the hit of the party and everyone keeps reminding us how amazing our band was. We would recommend you to anyone! Also, thanks for letting my cousin Marie sing “I will survive” on stage, I think it was the highlight of her life!!!

Thanks for everything, hope to see you again soon!!

- Katie & Ryan (Bride and Groom)

Laurita Winery: Erin and Richie Shaget – July 7, 2018

Dear Ric and each and every member of Big Ric Rising,

Wow. How to even say thank you!! We were truly overwhelmed by how everything came together for a day that we will remember for the rest of our lives. Your singing and music was beyond amazing. You are all truly artists, and we are so, so happy you were there with us. Your music, your energy, was such a meaningful part of our wedding day. I can’t even begin to tell you how much fun it was dancing the night away. We are beyond thankful for all that you did to make our day so memorable, for not only us, but for our guests. Our wedding simply would not have been the same without you - and it was more than we could have ever hoped for. From the ceremony, to getting things started, to the last songs and group hug. You are all amazing and we simply can’t thank you enough!

With love and many, many thanks,

- Erin and Richie Shaget (Bride and Groom)

_____________________________________________

We couldn’t have been happier than we were with Big Ric Rising as our wedding band! Everyone danced — the whole night — it was impossible to stay away from the dance floor!! They will pull out those moves your guests never knew they had!! Best day of our lives so far. Also, and more intimately, they made our ceremony so special (we were married at the venue) and had special requests for wedding party entrance, bridal entrance, and for the recessional... they made the night magical accommodating these requests. It was truly an unforgettable night!!

- Erin (Bride)

RiverCrest Golf Club and Preserve: Megan and Chad Munchbach – May 26, 2018

When it came to Big Ric Rising, he raised the roof of the venue!!!!! The dance floor was full at all times.

- Megan (Bride)

____________________________________________

It was a pleasure working with BVT when planning my daughter’s wedding. When it came to Big Ric Rising, he raised the roof of the venue!!!!! The dance floor was full at all times.

- Mary Ellen Shane (Mother of the Bride)

Tendenza: Theos Fraternity, University of Penn Event – April 25, 2018

Hi Nils,

I just want to write you to give a HUGE thank you to you, Big Ric, and the entire crew for absolutely blowing us away at last week's event! Big Ric and the entire band brought the energy and vibes necessary for a truly memorable evening filled with a great mix of current and classic hits. The entire band was professional and clearly knew how to throw a party. We will absolutely be using the band for our future events and would highly recommend the band to anyone in need. Thank you so much again for such an incredible evening!

Best,

- Josh L.

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown: American Heart Association Heart Ball – February 10, 2018

Dear Mr. Big Ric,
I want to thank you and your colleagues for allowing me the privilege of “sitting in” with
Big Ric Rising on Saturday Night! What a privilege to be with such consummate professionals!
Please express my sincere gratitude to your colleagues.
If you could send me a mailing address, I would like to send you a personal note as well. I also left a voice mail for you.
Again, many thanks
And be well!
Best regards,

- Robert (Heart Ball Honoree)

Union Trust: Birthday Party – January 21, 2018

Big Ric & Nils,

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! Words can't describe how thankful I am to you and the rest of the band for Sunday. We were so lucky to have you there share in the special day and you guys made the party. Thank you for completely killing it. You're the best.

I will see you at Ballroom at the Ben on Saturday!

THANKS AGAIN!

- Michelle Finley (Special Event Coordinator)

The Ritz – Carlton Philadelphia: Stephanie and Rob Fratoni – January 20, 2018

Hi Bill and Big Ric,

This thank you is way overdue, but THANK YOU to you both for everything you did for our 1/20 wedding. Bill, finding a band and booking was so easy because of you. I truly appreciate you going above and beyond to make sure we found the right fit for our personalities and budget.

Big Ric, our wedding day would not have been the same without you and your team. Rob and I had so much anxiety going into the day about flow, timing, our first dance, etc. After that call with you the week prior, we literally had no worries. We went into the reception knowing it would be an amazing day for us and our guests. Our parents, family, and friends keep raving about Big Ric Rising and how fun you all were.

I cannot say thank you enough! I hope our paths cross again in the future.

Cheers,

- Stephanie and Robert (Bride and Groom)

Ballroom at Ellis Preserve: Shaun and Brian Egan – December 22, 2017

Great band and great control of the ceremony

- Steve (Father of the Bride)

Reading Terminal Market: Cayla and Kevin Osborn – November 4, 2017

From the moment we booked "Big Ric", he was warm, embracing, and always a calming force during the planning of our daughter's wedding. He worked directly with the bride and groom to create a night of music specifically designed around their desires and preferences. Ric was always responsive to any question or concern that arose and getting back to us in a timely manner was a bonus! We will be planning another wedding within 2-3 years and bet me, we will be calling BVT!

- Lisa (Mother of the Bride)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

We absolutely LOVED working with BVTLive! Bill McCue was such a great guy to work with and so helpful! We made the best decision to have Sid Miller Dance Band as our wedding band. Sid was a pleasure to work with and really helped us with the flow of our night! They learned the Game of Thrones theme song for our entrance, and it was absolutely epic! The band was so entertaining, our dance floor was packed the whole night! They engaged the crowd like no other band! We still have people raving about our night!

- Kalyn (Bride)

Overbrook Golf Club: Meghan and Dr. Alex Brescia – October 14, 2017

Once again, I am writing to tell you about the absolute magnificent job Big Ric and his team did last night for the Magargee / Brescia Reception last night! It was an amazing party and most of that is due to Big Ric Rising! I cannot say enough about Big Ric! He is truly one of a kind. Ric is a professional in every sense of the word. His passion, energy, and musicianship is second to none. I love working with Ric because he cares so much about the guests’ experience. For Ric, it is all about the flow of the event and making everyone around him happy! Not only does he show these people a great time, he controls the flow. There is nobody better at controlling a crowd. Ric can make them sit, make them stand, make them dance, and even make them quiet if he so commands! It is such a pleasure to work with the Big Ric Rising Crew and I really look forward to the next time they are in the Overbrook ballroom!

- Jimmy Bartorillo (Assistant Manager - Overbrook Golf Club)

The Barnes Foundation: Sasha and Ryan Akrami – September 9, 2017

I gotta tell you that Big Ric is the best band leader I work with and also their sound is INCREDIBLE. They rocked it out last night like it was MORE than a job. Everyone was asking who the band was. Ric was on site early, which puts me at ease. He communicates well prior to the event. None of the band members are snotty and needy like most. They are professional and into what they do. They look happy on stage, so very important. Such a HUGE pleasure for an Event Producer to know the band is part of the team, The STARR team also brought up how easy Ric is to work with. He never lets Chef down when it's time to get the food on the table. Just wanted to sing his praises. Last night’s wedding was really involved. I never got a break and it was nice to know Ric had my back.

- Melissa Brannon (Wedding Planner)

DuPont Country Club: Jessica and James Ermilio – August 19, 2017

My husband and I selected Big Ric Rising and they were absolutely phenomenal. The room was full of energy and dancing, and it was 100% because of the band's liveliness and talent. The whole room was laughing and dancing. We told the band ahead of time that all we wanted was to make sure everyone had a fun time, and, man, the band ensured that everyone had a blast. I would recommend them over, and over, and over again.

- Jessica (Bride)

Brushwood Stable: Adele and Max- September 2, 2017

WOW! Big Ric Rising MADE our wedding!! BVTLive is fantastic! The team was so easy to communicate with. Big Ric is the greatest band leader in history - his energy had EVERYONE dancing all night long. It was nearly impossible to get people to sit down for their salad course. From 5 years old to 95, EVERYBODY was loving the set list! He and the band learned our first dance song and played it better than the original. Big Ric was our favorite vendor and I wish we could get married every weekend and dance to their music forever!!

- Adele (Bride)

The Water Works: Kate and Kevin Stephens – June 24, 2017

Big Rick Rising was fantastic. Our guests did NOT sit down for one moment. Just fantastic!

- Cindy (Mother of the Bride)

Bolingbroke: 50th Birthday Party – April 29, 2017

The band was amazing & a huge hit. Made the night. I would absolutely write a recommendation and will definitely be using you in the future.

- anonymous

Ballroom at Ellis Preserve: Christine and Long Ding – August 20, 2016

Ric and all of Big Ric Rising,
Long Ding in the house! Thank you for the most amazing party ever. Our guests are still talking about you. And I think I’m still sweating from dancing. If we get married again… we’d use you again!

Best, Christi & Long

Menu